As an admin, you can retire or unretire a budget in Divvy from a web browser or the Divvy mobile app. When a budget is retired, all vendor cards associated with the budget will be frozen and member cards will be permanently deleted. Budget owners cannot manage retired budgets and budget members cannot spend from retired budgets.

Only budgets that were retired in the previous budget period can be unretired. When a budget is unretired, you will have the option to unfreeze vendor cards and restore budget members ability to spend from the budget.

Note: When a budget is retired, the transactions that are associated with it will remain attached and locked to that budget. These can no longer be modified but can still be viewed.


Web Browser

jump to Mobile steps

Open Budget

  1. In the Divvy Navigation Menu, click the Budgets link.

Open Budgets

2. Click the name of the budget you want to view [1]. You can use the Search field to search for a budget [2].

Select Budget

Retire Budget

  1. To retire a budget, click the Options icon [1]. Then click the Retire budget option [2].

Retire Budget Option

2. A confirmation window displays with a list of any items that will be impacted by retiring the budget. This includes the number of vendor cards that will be frozen [1], the number of owners who will be unable to manage the budget [2], and the number of budget members who will be unable to spend from the budget [3].

3. To confirm you want to retire the budget, click the Retire Budget button [4].

Retire Budget Confirmation

Unretire Budget

  1. Retired budgets display a Retired label [1]. To unretire a retired budget, click the Unretire Budget button [2].

    Note: You can only unretire a budget that was retired during the previous budget period. Once multiple budget periods have passed since the budget was retired, you will be unable to retire the budget.

    Unretire Budget Button

  2. To restore budget members' ability to spend from the budget, click the Restore Budget Member Spend Ability button [1].

  3. To unfreeze all vendor cards from the budget, click the Unfreeze All Vendor Cards button [2].

  4. To confirm you want to unretire the budget, click the Unretire Budget button [3].

    Unretire Budget Options

  5. If you open a budget that was retired more than one budget period in the past, a window will display to inform you that you cannot retire the budget.

  6. To copy the budget, click the Copy Budget link [1].

7. To close the window, click the Done button [2].

Unretire Unavailable

Mobile App

Open Budget

  1. In the Divvy Navigation Bar, tap the Budgets icon [1]. If the Budgets icon is not in your Navigation Bar, tap the More icon [2], then tap the Budgets link [3].

    Open Budgets - Mobile

2. Tap the name of the budget you want to view.

Select Budget

Retire Budget

  1. Tap the Options icon.

Open Options Menu

2. Tap the Retire Budget button.

Retire Budget Button

3. A confirmation window displays with a list of any items that will be impacted by retiring the budget. This includes the number of vendor cards that will be frozen [1], the number of owners who will be unable to manage the budget [2], and the number of budget members who will be unable to spend from the budget [3].

4. To confirm you want to retire the budget, tap the Retire Budget button [4].

Retire Budget Confirmation

Unretire Budget

  1. Retired budgets display a Retired label [1]. To open the Options menu for the retired budget, tap the Options icon [2].

    Note: You can only unretire a budget that was retired during the previous budget period. Once multiple budget periods have passed since the budget was retired, you will be unable to retire the budget.

View Retired Budget

2. Tap the Unretire budget button.

Unretire Budget Option

3. To restore budget members' ability to spend from the budget, tap the Restore Budget Member Spend Ability button [1].

4. To unfreeze all vendor cards from the budget, tap the Unfreeze All Vendor Cards button [2].

5. To confirm you want to unretire the budget, tap the Unretire Budget button [3].

Unretire Budget Options

6. If you open a budget that was retired more than one budget period in the past, a window will display to inform you that you cannot retire the budget.

7. To copy the budget, tap the Copy Budget link [1].

8. To close the window, tap the Done button [2].

Unretire Unavailable

If you have additional questions or need help with using Divvy, please view our other Help Center articles or contact the Divvy Support team.

Did this answer your question?